Our History

A tale of tradition and progression

We hope you enjoy this at-a-glance look at key milestones in our proud and rich history. Click here to discover what else we have planned for our school in the coming years.

  • 1886

    Founded for the community

    AB Taylor founds a small school for boys at St John's Anglican Church near Camberwell Junction. The school is designed for boys in the local community and offers the latest approach to education – combining academic learning in a wide range of subjects with participation in sport, music and the arts.
  • 1908

    On the road

    The school moves to Burke Road, Camberwell and takes on the characteristics of what we know today as one of Melbourne's leading boys' schools: progressive, inclusive and all about learning.
  • 1934

    Canterbury here we come

    Our Canterbury campus is established with the purchase of the landmark mansion, 'Roystead', which remains the focal point of our school's expansion over the next 80 years. This includes major projects such as the Danks Science Laboratories and Wootton Design Studios, the Performing Arts Centre and Mallinson Music School, and the McDonald Humanities and Library Building. Tour our campus as it is today.
  • 1980

    Junior School grows up

    Although we have always had a Junior School in some form (starting with eight year-olds and then, in the 1930s, taking on boys under six) we purchase 'Norge' as the official home to our Junior School. It is redeveloped in 2010 with the addition of a second storey library and staff facilities, becoming its own village - big enough to offer diversity and opportunity, but small enough to ensure all the boys are known and nurtured during these critical foundation years on which their future learning is based.
  • 2004

    A story to tell

    Named in honour of a distinguished Latin teacher and computer innovator who taught for many years at our school (and left his estate to us in 1998), the H.R McDonald Library and Humanities Building features a two-storey library, 14 classrooms and a ceramic studio. It is officially opened in April 2004 by the Right Honourable Sir Ninian Stephen, former High Court Justice and Governor General of Australia.
  • 2007

    Helping boys to transition

    The William Angliss Building opens, named in honour of Sir William Angliss who was central to helping our school move to its current site in the 1930s. Established for our Middle School (boys in Years 6 to 8), the purpose of the building is to aid the transition between childhood and adolescence, helping students to navigate increased personal responsibility, opportunities and choice. It is launched by one of our Old Grammarians, the Governor of Victoria, Professor David de Kretzer AC.
  • 2013

    Facilities that inspire greatness

    Our new Senior School complex opens, the Wheelton Centre McDonald Building, providing 22 state-of-the-art classrooms, four science laboratories, arts studios, a lecture theatrette and VCE common room. It is the largest single structure on campus. Designed by architects Peter Crone and Robert Tedesco, and built by McCorkells, it is filled with light and student resources and is conducive to learning.
  • Today

    Honouring tradition while embracing the future

    We remain true to AB Taylor's vision of a community school dedicated to educating young men for life and bring together the strength of tradition with an understanding of future demands. Our educational strategies are innovative and modern, with technology fully integrated across our curriculum for both teaching and learning. We also place great importance on helping our students to become responsible citizens. While the best facilities and teaching practices are crucial, it has also been the strength of our community that has given the school its reputation both locally and abroad. Over 125 years only nine Headmasters have presided over Camberwell Grammar School, a testament to our stability and longevity. View our future projects.

Comments are closed.